American Presidents, 4th Edition

  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 1619259419
  • ISBN-13: 9781619259416
  • Grade Level Range: 9th Grade - College Senior
  • 800 Pages | eBook
  • Original Copyright 2015 | Published/Released February 2016
  • This publication's content originally published in print form: 2015

  • Price:  Sign in for price



This fourth edition of American Presidents examines the strengths and weaknesses, the successes and failures of each chief executive, from George Washington to Barack Obama. This work presents 44 essays on the life and politics of the U.S. presidents, all arranged chronologically by administration. Each essay begins with ready reference information, including name, administration number, years served, birth and death dates, political party, vice president, and cabinet members by department. A comprehensive portrait of each president is then presented, from birth to political rise to election, term(s) in office, defeat or retirement, and death. Every essay ends with an annotated bibliography.

Table of Contents

Front Cover.
Half Title Page.
Title Page.
Copyright Page.
Alphabetical List.
Publisher's Note.
1: The American Presidency: An Overview.
2: George Washington.
3: John Adams.
4: Thomas Jefferson.
5: James Madison.
6: James Monroe.
7: John Quincy Adams.
8: Andrew Jackson.
9: Martin Van Buren.
10: William Henry Harrison.
11: John Tyler.
12: James K. Polk.
13: Zachary Taylor.
14: Millard Fillmore.
15: Franklin Pierce.
16: James Buchanan.
17: Abraham Lincoln.
18: Andrew Johnson.
19: Ulysses S. Grant.
20: Rutherford B. Hayes.
21: James A. Garfield.
22: Chester A. Arthur.
23: Grover Cleveland.
24: Benjamin Harrison.
25: William Mckinley.
26: Theodore Roosevelt.
27: William Howard Taft.
28: Woodrow Wilson.