She Was Sheriff, 1st Edition

  • Series Name: Five Star Frontier Fiction Standing Order Plan
  • Melody Groves
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 1432831992
  • ISBN-13: 9781432831998
  • DDC: Fic
  • Shipping Weight: 1.20 lbs ( .54 kgs)
  • 358 Pages | Print | Hardcover
  • © 2016 | Published



All she wanted — a gold band. What she got — a tin star.

Maud Overstreet figured she'd grow up, get married, have a house with a white picket fence and more kids than she could count. After thirty-five years, she still hopes it will happen.

Now, in 1872, Dry Creek's town council offers her the job of replacement sheriff; she accepts — with trepidation. Badge now pinned on her frilly blouse, for the first time, she enters a saloon, tastes whiskey, learns to shoot, to drive a stagecoach, to arrest people.

The discovery of gold brings unsavory characters, including the notorious James Mooney Gang. Impending bank robbery rumors spread. Maud enlists the help of Mayor Seth Critoli, but it's all on her to save Dry Creek from disaster.

This product is part of:


Five Star Frontier Fiction Standing Order Plan

Frontier Fiction paints vivid narratives of people who discover the depths of their character and courage in the American frontier. Your readers will find these stories, which feature a range of genres and diverse protagonists, hard to put down. These titles capture the spirit of freedom, individualism, and adventure of life in America on the evolving western edge before 1930. Featuring exciting new characters who face life-changing challenges in settings that are in stark contrast to civilized society, these titles are sure to please fans of Mysteries, Historical Fiction, Romance, Adventures, Native American Fiction, and Coming of Age/YA cross-over novels. 12 titles a year, 1 shipped each month, for approximately $234 a year.