Lit Crit Guides: Reading and Interpreting the Works of the Brontë Sisters, 1st Edition

  • Naomi Pasachoff
  • Published By: Enslow Publishing
  • ISBN-10: 0766089509
  • ISBN-13: 9780766089501
  • DDC: 823.823
  • Grade Level Range: 7th Grade - 12th Grade
  • 160 Pages | eBook
  • Original Copyright 2017 | Published/Released February 2018
  • This publication's content originally published in print form: 2017

  • Price:  Sign in for price



The literary output of the Brontë sisters was small, but their novels remain immensely popular more than 150 years after their deaths. Each sister wrote a novel that challenged the ideas of the day on what was fit to print: Charlotte’s Jane Eyre by examining the interior life of a young girl; Emily’s Wuthering Heights by overturning the conventions of the novel, even while making use of traditional literary forms; Anne’s The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by depicting a husband’s alcoholism and debauchery. This guide, which roots the writers’ work in their unusual upbringing and describes and challenges the so-called Brontë myth, aims to provide both first-time readers and long-time Brontë enthusiasts with a deeper understanding of their work and the reasons it continues to engross readers today.

Table of Contents

Front Cover.
Half Title Page.
Title Page.
Copyright Page.
1: Early Deaths, Lasting Works: Introducing the Brontë Sisters.
2: An Incubator for Authors: The Seeds of the Brontë Sisters’ Earliest Work.
3: The Gender-Bending Road to Publication: From Reluctant Teachers to Aspiring Authors.
4: The Breakthrough Book: Currer Bell’s Jane Eyre.
5: A One-of-a-Kind Novel: Ellis Bell’s Wuthering Heights.
6: Last but Not Least: Acton Bell’s Two Novels.
7: Marriage and a Mission: Shaping the Family’s Literary Reputation.
8: Charlotte Brontë’s Male Survivors: Turning Over the Family’s History to Others.
9: Into the Twenty-First Century and Beyond: The Brontë Sisters’ Enduring Legacy.
Chapter Notes.
Literary Terms.
Major Works by the Brontë Sisters.
Further Reading.