Contemporary Literary Criticism Yearbook 2018: A Retrospective Covering the Year’s New Authors, Prizewinners, and Obituaries

  • Series Name: Contemporary Literary Criticism Series
  • Volume 457
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 1410383652
  • ISBN-13: 9781410383655
  • DDC: 809
  • Grade Level Range: 12th Grade +
  • Shipping Weight: 2.95 lbs ( 1.34 kgs)
  • 494 Pages | Print | Hardcover
  • Previous Editions: 2020, 2020, 2020
  • © 2020 | Published
  • Newer Edition Available



Contemporary Literary Criticism assembles critical responses to the writings of the world’s most renowned novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, scriptwriters, and other creative writers and provides supplementary biographical context and bibliographic material to guide the reader to a greater understanding of the genres and creators. Each entry includes a set of previously published reviews, essays and other critical responses from sources that include scholarly books and journals, literary magazines, interviews, websites, and other sources, carefully selected to create a representative history and cross-section of critical responses.

This product is part of:


Contemporary Literary Criticism Series

CONTEMPORARY LITERARY CRITICISM covers authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959. Each print volume in this long-standing series profiles approximately 6-8 novelists, poets, playwrights and other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Each of the approximately 200 essays per volume is prefaced by a full citation and annotation and most entries in the print series include an author portrait. Each volume includes cumulative author name, topic, and nationality indexes, as well as a volume-specific title index. A cumulative title index to the entire series is available separately.

Features and Benefits

  • Each volume of CLC features reprinted criticism and reviews on a set of noted authors and topics.
  • Each entry includes a brief Introduction, including an overview of the author's biographical information, major works, and a critical reception section, followed by reprinted essays.

Table of Contents

Akwaeke Emezi 1987- (Entry devoted to the novel Freshwater (2018)).
Lisa Halliday 1977- (Entry devoted to the novel Asymmetry (2018)).
Tadzio Koelb 1971- (Entry devoted to the novel Trenton Makes (2018)).
Tommy Orange 1982- (Entry devoted to the novel There There (2018)).
2018 Literary Prizewinners and Honors.
Anna Burns 1962- (Entry devoted to the novel Milkman (2018)).
Sigrid Nunez 1951- (Entry devoted to the novel The Friend (2018)).
Richard Powers 1957- (Entry devoted to the novel The Overstory (2018)).
Justin Phillip Reed 1989- (Entry devoted to the poetry collection Indecency (2018)).
Ursula K. Le Guin 1929-2018 (American novelist, short-story writer, essayist, poet, critic, children’s writer, and screenwriter).
V. S. Naipaul 1932-2018 (Trinidadian-English novelist, travel writer, essayist, short-story writer, and children’s writer).
Philip Roth 1933-2018 (American novelist, novella and short-story writer, essayist, autobiographer, and critic).
Tom Wolfe 1930-2018 (American essayist, journalist, editor, critic, novelist, and short-story writer).