The Iroquois, 1st Edition

  • Series Name: Indians of North America
  • Barbara Graymont
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 1438163312
  • ISBN-13: 9781438163314
  • DDC: 970.004
  • Grade Level Range: 6th Grade - 12th Grade +
  • eBook
  • Original Copyright 2014 | Published/Released January 2016
  • This publication's content originally published in print form: 2014

  • Price:  Sign in for price



The Iroquois, part of the Indians of North America series, presents a fascinating portrayal of the history and culture of these native people. An agricultural and matrilineal (the women owned all property and determined kinship) society, the Iroquois Confederacy was made up of six nations: the Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga, Seneca, and Tuscarora. 

This product is part of:


Indians of North America

Each title contains a detailed cultural history on a specific tribe.

Table of Contents

Front Cover.
Copyright Page.
1: “The Time of Troubles”.
2: “The Great Peace”.
3: “The Extended Lodge Flourishes”.
4: “Iroquois and Europeans”.
5: “The Expansion of Iroquois Power”.
6: “Warfare and Diplomacy”.
7: “Decline and Revival”.
8: “The Modern Iroquois”.
9: “The Iroquois Today and Tomorrow”.
Support Materials.