The Detective, 1st Edition

  • Series Name: Five Star First Edition Mystery Standing Order Plan
  • James Patrick Hunt
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 1432828088
  • ISBN-13: 9781432828080
  • DDC: FIC
  • Shipping Weight: .95 lbs ( .43 kgs)
  • 300 Pages | Print | Hardcover
  • © 2014 | Published



Chicago‚ 1979. On the heels of one of the harshest blizzards ever to hit the city‚ five people have been murdered at a train stop.

One of the victims is Rabbi Nathan Wald‚ a political activist who may have been targeted by the Illinois Neo-Nazis. Detective David Beckman is assigned to the case for all the wrong reasons. He’s new to Homicide and unwelcome by his supervising officer‚ longtime veteran Sergeant Tom Regan.

They are two men with different backgrounds‚ and very different worldviews. Together they’ll have to wade through all the lowlifes‚ haters‚ and sleazy politicians of Chicagoland to find the killer.

This product is part of:


Five Star First Edition Mystery Standing Order Plan

Five Star Mysteries are standard print, first editions from award-winning authors as well as up-and-coming authors of the Mystery genre. These hardcover first editions will consist of new novels and short story collections plus novels that have been restored from original typescripts. The Five Star First Edition Mystery Series titles are carefully selected to appeal to a broad range of genre fans and include all subgenres of mystery: romantic suspense, traditional mysteries, private eye novels, cozies, hard-boiled detectives, and short story collections. The mystery genre continues to boom and this plan speaks directly to what today's readers want -- a mix of original novels and short fiction collections from established, award-winning professionals as well as up-and-coming writers in the field. Previous authors have included Ralph McInerny, Catherine Dain, Les Roberts, Jeremiah Healy, and more. New, as of June 2004, four (4) titles shipped approximately every four weeks. Actual covers may be different from those shown.