The Shooting in the Shop, 1st Edition

  • Series Name: Five Star First Edition Mystery Standing Order Plan
  • Simon Brett
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 1594149240
  • ISBN-13: 9781594149245
  • DDC: Fic
  • Shipping Weight: 1.20 lbs ( .54 kgs)
  • 302 Pages | Print | Hardcover
  • © 2011 | Published



Carole Seddon hates Christmas — it all seems rather a waste of time. So when her neighbor and best friend‚ Jude‚ drags her along to go shopping at a local store called Gallimaufry‚ she can feel her inner-Scrooge knocking. But the sales are on and even Carole can’t resist a bargain.

Then‚ a few days later‚ Gallimaufry is burnt down and a body is discovered in the ashes. It seems like a tragic accident‚ but no one can die of natural causes when a gun is involved. The victim was young‚ pretty and in a long-term relationship — who could possibly want her dead?

This product is part of:


Five Star First Edition Mystery Standing Order Plan

Five Star Mysteries are standard print, first editions from award-winning authors as well as up-and-coming authors of the Mystery genre. These hardcover first editions will consist of new novels and short story collections plus novels that have been restored from original typescripts. The Five Star First Edition Mystery Series titles are carefully selected to appeal to a broad range of genre fans and include all subgenres of mystery: romantic suspense, traditional mysteries, private eye novels, cozies, hard-boiled detectives, and short story collections. The mystery genre continues to boom and this plan speaks directly to what today's readers want -- a mix of original novels and short fiction collections from established, award-winning professionals as well as up-and-coming writers in the field. Previous authors have included Ralph McInerny, Catherine Dain, Les Roberts, Jeremiah Healy, and more. New, as of June 2004, four (4) titles shipped approximately every four weeks. Actual covers may be different from those shown.


“A new Simon Brett is an event for mystery fans.”— P. D. James

— P. D. James

"A murder provides series heroine Carole Seddon a welcome distraction from Christmas, a holiday she's tried to ignore for years, in Brett's delightful 11th cozy set in the English seaside village of Fethering (after 2009's The Poisoning in the Pub)."--Publishers Weekly, September, 2010

— P. D. James

"Christmas time means nothing more than a big bah, humbug! for Carole until a corpse is found inside the shell of a burned-down local store. She's on the case, surrounded by suspicious characters. For series fans!"-- Library Journal Review, October 2010

— P. D. James

"Intricate fun."-Booklist, September 2010

— Booklist