Dark Prairie, 1st Edition

  • Series Name: Five Star Frontier Fiction Standing Order Plan
  • John D. Nesbitt
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 1432827502
  • ISBN-13: 9781432827502
  • DDC: Fic
  • Shipping Weight: .80 lbs ( .36 kgs)
  • 216 Pages | Print | Hardcover
  • © 2013 | Published



A Will Rogers Silver Medallion Award-Winner

A stranger named Dunbar comes to the town of Winsome‚ on the plains of Wyoming‚ in the 1890's. He goes to work at the Little Six ranch and begins to look into the affairs of Tut Whipple‚ a water project developer.

The investigation starts small‚ with the tracking down of stolen beef but extends to the disappearance of a young girl named Annie Mora. Dunbar probes here and there‚ developing an acquaintance with Whipple's wife and an interest in a dam and reservoir Whipple built near the town.

Whipple's men come after Dunbar‚ first with fists and then with guns‚ until Whipple can no longer avoid a showdown on the dark prairie.

The Will Rogers Medallion Awards were founded by Will Rogers, a respected writer and cowboy entertainer who wrote about the traditions and values of the American cowboy. Originally created to honor poetry rooted in the Will Rogers heritage, the annual awards program has expanded to include other works of Western literature and film. Winners of the prestigious awards are honored each year at a ceremony held in Fort Worth, Texas.

This product is part of:


Five Star Frontier Fiction Standing Order Plan

Frontier Fiction paints vivid narratives of people who discover the depths of their character and courage in the American frontier. Your readers will find these stories, which feature a range of genres and diverse protagonists, hard to put down. These titles capture the spirit of freedom, individualism, and adventure of life in America on the evolving western edge before 1930. Featuring exciting new characters who face life-changing challenges in settings that are in stark contrast to civilized society, these titles are sure to please fans of Mysteries, Historical Fiction, Romance, Adventures, Native American Fiction, and Coming of Age/YA cross-over novels. 12 titles a year, 1 shipped each month, for approximately $234 a year.


"Western master and SPUR Award-winner Nesbitt has crafted a memorable coming-of-age mystery set in the wide-open spaces of 1890s Wyoming. Slim, tightly written, and quietly suspenseful, the novel opens a captivating window into the frontier justice system."

— Library Journal

"Five Star launches its Frontier Fiction line with a crime novel set in the Old West from Spur Award–winner Nesbitt. Nesbitt provides fine period detail and lucid prose as Dunbar's purpose and his target become slowly and convincingly clear."

— Publishers Weekly

"Callow young Gary Wharton works at the sleepy Little Six ranch . . . an older man named Dunbar hires on at the Little Six . . . cattle begin disappearing. Something doesn't add up about Tut Whipple. The mystery deepens when Dunbar, enlisting Gary as his assistant, shadows Whipple's big project. Tempers flare with Whipple's crew, a Little Six hand is shot — and then a terrible truth emerges. A solid, compact western from the always-reliable Nesbitt."

— Booklist