The Age of Exploration: From Christopher Columbus to Ferdinand Magellan, 1st Edition

  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 1622750233
  • ISBN-13: 9781622750238
  • DDC: 910.92
  • Grade Level Range: 9th Grade - 12th Grade
  • 184 Pages | eBook
  • Original Copyright 2014 | Published/Released March 2014
  • This publication's content originally published in print form: 2014

  • Price:  Sign in for price



The Age of Exploration, which spanned roughly from 1400 to 1550, was the first time in history that European powers—eyeing new trade routes to the East or seeking to establish empires—began actively looking far past their own borders to gain a better understanding of the world and its many resources. The individuals who set out on behalf of the countries they represented came from a variety of backgrounds, and included master navigators such as Christopher Columbus and Ferdinand Magellan—the latter of whom was the first to circle the globe—as well as the often ruthless conquistadors of the New World such as Francisco Pizarro and Hernan Cortes. The exciting and sometimes tragic lives and journeys of these and many others as well as the battles for empire that arose are chronicled in this engaging volume.

Table of Contents

Front Cover.
Half Title Page.
Title Page.
Copyright Page.
1: Zheng He.
2: Prince Henry The Navigator.
3: Niccolò dei Conti.
4: Dinís Dias.
5: Alvise Ca' da Mosto.
6: Martín Alonso and Vicente Yáñez Pinzón.
7: Francisco de Almeida.
8: Obadiah of Bertinoro.
9: John Cabot.
10: Diogo Cão.
11: Bartolomeu Dias.
12: Christopher Columbus.
13: Afonso de Albuquerque.
14: Amerigo Vespucci.
15: Pêro da Covilhã.
16: Vasco da Gama.
17: Juan Ponce de León.
18: Diego Velázquez de Cuéllar.
19: Pedro Álvares Cabral.
20: João da Nova.
21: Lodovico de Varthema.
22: Diego de Almagro.
23: Lourenço de Almeida.
24: Vasco Núñez de Balboa.
25: Francisco Pizarro.
26: Sebastian Cabot.
27: Juan Sebastián del Cano.
28: Ferdinand Magellan.
29: Panfilo de Narváez.
30: Pedro de Alvarado.
31: Hernán Cortés.
32: Giovanni da Verrazzano.
33: Juan de Grijalba.
34: Álvar Núñez Cabeza de Vaca.
35: Francisco de Orellana.
36: Jacques Cartier.
37: Sebastán de Benalcázar.
38: Gonzalo Jiménez de Quesada.
39: Marcos de Niza.
40: Hernando de Soto.
41: David Reubeni.
42: Jean-François de La Rocque de Roberval.
43: Marina.
44: Gonzalo Pizarro.
45: Saint Francis Xavier.
46: Francisco Vázquez de Coronado.
47: Juan Rodríguez Cabrillo.