Southern Heat, 1st Edition

  • Series Name: Five Star First Edition Mystery Standing Order Plan
  • David Burnsworth
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 1432828002
  • ISBN-13: 9781432828004
  • DDC: Fic
  • Shipping Weight: .99 lbs ( .45 kgs)
  • 304 Pages | Print | Hardcover
  • © 2014 | Published



Gunshots echo down an antebellum Charleston alley. Brack Pelton‚ an ex-racecar driver and Afghanistan War veteran‚ witnesses the murder of his uncle‚ Reggie Sails. Darcy Wells‚ the pretty Palmetto Pulse reporter‚ investigates Reggie’s murder and targets Brack.

The sole heir of his uncle’s estate‚ Brack receives a rundown bar called the Pirate’s Cove‚ a rotting beach house‚ and one hundred acres of preserved and valuable wetland along the Ashley River. A member of Charleston’s wealthiest and oldest families offers Brack four million dollars for the land. All Brack wants is his uncle’s killer.

From the sandy beaches of Isle of Palms‚ through the nineteenth-century mansions lining the historic Battery‚ to the marshlands surrounding the county‚ Southern Heat is drenched in the humidity of the lowcountry.

This product is part of:


Five Star First Edition Mystery Standing Order Plan

Five Star Mysteries are standard print, first editions from award-winning authors as well as up-and-coming authors of the Mystery genre. These hardcover first editions will consist of new novels and short story collections plus novels that have been restored from original typescripts. The Five Star First Edition Mystery Series titles are carefully selected to appeal to a broad range of genre fans and include all subgenres of mystery: romantic suspense, traditional mysteries, private eye novels, cozies, hard-boiled detectives, and short story collections. The mystery genre continues to boom and this plan speaks directly to what today's readers want -- a mix of original novels and short fiction collections from established, award-winning professionals as well as up-and-coming writers in the field. Previous authors have included Ralph McInerny, Catherine Dain, Les Roberts, Jeremiah Healy, and more. New, as of June 2004, four (4) titles shipped approximately every four weeks. Actual covers may be different from those shown.