The United Kingdom: Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales, 1st Edition

  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 162275056X
  • ISBN-13: 9781622750566
  • DDC: 941
  • Grade Level Range: 9th Grade - 12th Grade
  • 208 Pages | eBook
  • Original Copyright 2014 | Published/Released March 2014
  • This publication's content originally published in print form: 2014

  • Price:  Sign in for price



Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales—storied lands that have sparked the global imagination through their legends and centuries-old traditions—often seem to be eclipsed by the neighboring England. While there are many similarities between them, each is culturally distinct, with languages, traditions, and identities not shared by the others. But even as Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales each work to safeguard their unique heritages, they have also worked together and with England, despite the often tense relationships between them that have at times made coexistence difficult and independence movements frequent. The histories, peoples, and traditions of these remarkable lands are the subjects of this comprehensive volume.

Table of Contents

Front Cover.
Half Title Page.
Title Page.
Copyright Page.
1: Northern Ireland: The Land and Its People.
2: The Northern Irish Economy.
3: Northern Irish Government and Society.
4: Northern Irish Cultural life.
5: Early and Early Modern Ulster.
6: The 18th Century and Beyond.
7: Scotland: The land and Its People.
8: The Scottish Economy.
9: Scottish Government and Society.
10: Scottish Cultural Life.
11: Early Scotland.
12: From the 15th Century to the Age of Revolution.
13: Scotland Since the 18th Century.
14: Wales: The Land and Its People.
15: The Welsh Economy.
16: Welsh Government and Society.
17: Welsh Cultural Life.
18: Wales Before the Norman Conquest.
19: Wales in the Middle Ages.
20: Wales from the 16th to the 21st Century.