Walter Dean Myers, 1st Edition

  • Myrna Dee Marler
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 0313055726
  • ISBN-13: 9780313055720
  • Grade Level Range: College Freshman - College Senior
  • 198 Pages | eBook
  • Original Copyright 2008 | Published/Released September 2008
  • This publication's content originally published in print form: 2008

  • Price:  Sign in for price



Explores the work of Walter Dean Myers, acclaimed author of African American books for children and young adults. Novels and historical works examined here include Fallen Angels, The Glory Field, Monster, and Shooters.

Table of Contents

Front Cover.
Half Title Page.
Title Page.
Copyright Page.
Series Foreword.
1: His Life So Far: Harlem, Family, English Teachers, and Basketball.
2: Early Childhood.
3: The Elementary School Years.
4: Junior High School.
5: High School.
6: Joining The Army and Escape.
7: Becoming A Writer.
8: The Life of A Writer.
9: The Giver That Keeps on Giving.
10: Slavery, Civil War, and Segregation.
11: Civil Rights Movement and Cultural Nationalism.
12: Walter Dean Myers and African-American Culture.
13: Representations of African Americans in Literature for Children and Young Adults Before and During The Civil Rights Movement.
14: Walter Dean Myers and The Canon of Children’s and Young-Adult Literature for African Americans.
15: A Happy Accident: Writing for Young Adults—Attracting Readers with Humor, Suspense, Adventure, and Friendship.
16: Fast Sam, Cool Clyde, and Stuff (1975).
17: Mojo and the Russians (1977).
18: The Young Landlords (1989).
19: Won’t Know Till I Get There (1982).
20: Basketball and The Game of Life.
21: Hoops (1981).
22: The Outside Shot (1984).
23: African Americans in American History.
24: The Glory Field (1994).
25: The Living Room War.
26: Plot.
27: Characters.
28: Themes.
29: “It’s a Jungle Out There”.
30: Plot.
31: Characters.
32: Themes.
33: Do You Know Who You Are?.
34: Plot.
35: Characters.
36: Theme.
About the Author.