Contemporary Authors Autobiography Series

  • Volume 30
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 0787619752
  • ISBN-13: 9780787619756
  • DDC: 920
  • Shipping Weight: 2.75 lbs ( 1.25 kgs)
  • Print | Hardcover
  • Previous Editions: 1998, 1998, 1997
  • © 1999 | Published



Each of the 30 volumes in this series presents about 20 autobiographical essays written exclusively for the series, allowing your patrons to approach each author's life from a unique, highly personal vantage point. Varying in style and length (minimum 10,000 words) and international in scope, authors' essays are brimming with reflections and insights.

A unique resource for studies on the memoir, each essay is illustrated with photographs supplied by the author and followed with a complete bibliographic listing of works. Every volume also provides a cumulative subject index to the more than 450 entrants in the series. Featured authors include:

  • Diane Ackerman
  • George Bowering
  • Dennis Brutus
  • Rita Dove
  • Howard Fast
  • Michael Gilbert
  • Larry Heinemann
  • Garrett Hongo
  • Sandra McPherson
  • Gerald Vizenor
  • Anne Waldman
  • Elie Wiesel
  • Tobias Wolff
  • And many more

(Note: this series has been discontinued, however new autobiographical essays will appear periodically in the Contemporary Authors series.)


"Remains a vehicle for autobiographical essays by contemporary authors in all genres from around the world." -- ARBA (American Reference Books Annual) 1999