Toward the Promised Land: 1851-1861, 1st Edition

  • Series Name: Milestones in Black American History
  • Wilma King
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 1438162588
  • ISBN-13: 9781438162584
  • DDC: 973.049607
  • Grade Level Range: 6th Grade - 12th Grade +
  • eBook
  • Original Copyright 2015 | Published/Released March 2016
  • This publication's content originally published in print form: 2015

  • Price:  Sign in for price



Toward the Promised Land: 1851-1861, part of the Milestones in Black American History series, tells the fascinating story of black America in the years just before the Civil War, when abolitionists such as Frederick Douglass, Sojourner Truth, Harriet Beecher Stowe, and John Brown sought to shatter the South's "peculiar institution," slavery.

This product is part of:


Milestones in Black American History

Each title covers the contributions of African Americans over a specific time period as they relate to historic milestones toward freedom and equality.

Table of Contents

Front Cover.
Copyright Page.
1: A’n’t I a Woman?: Slavery, Women’s Rights, and the Christiana Affair.
2: Uncle Tom’s Cabin and the Power of the Pen.
3: The Road to Independence: Emigration to Canada and Liberia.
4: The Color Line: Free Blacks and Slaves.
5: I Wrote Passes for My Grandmother: Education Opportunities.
6: The Storm, the Whirlwind, and the Earthquake: Abolitionists and the Underground Railroad.
7: The Legacy of Anthony Burns: The Kansas-Nebraska Act and Scott v. Sanford.
8: We Must Not Be Enemies: Harpers Ferry and the Run Up to the Civil War.
Support Materials.
Further Reading.