The Turning Tide: 1948-1956, 1st Edition

  • Series Name: Milestones in Black American History
  • Margaret Dornfeld
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 143816257X
  • ISBN-13: 9781438162577
  • DDC: 973.049607
  • Grade Level Range: 6th Grade - 12th Grade +
  • eBook
  • Original Copyright 2015 | Published/Released March 2016
  • This publication's content originally published in print form: 2015

  • Price:  Sign in for price



The Turning Tide: 1948-1956, part of the Milestones in Black American History series, recounts the integration of the U.S. military in 1948 and the triumphs and setbacks in the years that followed, culminating with the stunning victory in Montgomery, Alabama, that forever changed the way Americans lived.

This product is part of:


Milestones in Black American History

Each title covers the contributions of African Americans over a specific time period as they relate to historic milestones toward freedom and equality.

Table of Contents

Front Cover.
Copyright Page.
1: Don’t Join a Jim Crow Army: Desegregating the Military.
2: The Rise of Rhythm and Blues.
3: The New Negro.
4: Reaching for the Moon: Moving to End Segregation.
5: Move On Up a Little Higher: Brown v. Board of Education.
6: Rosa Parks and the Beginning of the Montgomery Bus Boycott.
7: Walking to Victory: The End of the Montgomery Bus Boycott.
Support Materials.
Further Reading.