Writing Dylan: The Songs of a Lonesome Traveler, 2nd Edition

  • Larry David Smith
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 1440861595
  • ISBN-13: 9781440861598
  • DDC: 782.421640
  • 600 Pages | eBook
  • Original Copyright 2019 | Published/Released March 2019
  • This publication's content originally published in print form: 2019

  • Price:  Sign in for price



The second edition of this book examines Nobel Laureate Bob Dylan's historic career, yielding unique insights into a distinctively American artist's creative world. The book opens with a short biography and description of Dylan's artistic method before diving into the seven missions of his life's work. Chapters are supported by song lyrics, of which the author's license agreement with Bob Dylan Music enables a definitive presentation. Since the release of the first edition in 2005, the laureate has produced three albums of original material as well as three widely praised albums of American standards. Columbia Records has issued multiple boxed sets chronicling specific periods of Dylan's career, and several films have been made about him. Dylan himself has also given numerous speeches and interviews, often while accepting prestigious awards. This second edition not only features these new materials but draws on them to recast the first edition, presenting Dylan's music as an indelible art form.

Table of Contents

Front Cover.
Half Title Page.
Title Page.
Copyright Page.
The Nobel.
Bob’s Story.
Bob’s Way.
The Missions: A Playbill.
1: Mission One: Discovery.
2: Mission Two: Rebellion.
3: Mission Three: Recovery.
4: Mission Four: Reorientation.
5: Mission Five: Service.
6: Mission Six: Reorientation II.
7: Mission Seven: Service II.
8: The Show: 1988–2018.
Writing Dylan, Revisited.
About the Author.