What Is the Rock Cycle?, 1st Edition

  • Louise Spilsbury
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 1622752678
  • ISBN-13: 9781622752676
  • DDC: 551.9
  • Grade Level Range: 3rd Grade - 6th Grade
  • 32 Pages | eBook
  • Original Copyright 2014 | Published/Released April 2014
  • This publication's content originally published in print form: 2014

  • Price:  Sign in for price



Although rocks may initially seem like solid, unchanging substances, they are actually made up of minerals that change forms and get recycled through many different stages. This engaging book explores the rock cycle with diagrams and detailed photographs illustrating the movement of rocks through their various states, including magma-formed igneous rock, metamorphic rock such as marble, and layered sedimentary rocks that build up over time. Also covered are the scientific processes that cause rocks to change forms and the ways in which humans have benefitted from rock’s surprising and constant transformations.

Table of Contents

Front Cover.
Title Page.
Copyright Page.
1: What Are Rocks?.
2: Inside Earth.
3: Recycling Rocks.
4: Igneous Rocks.
5: Crystals.
6: Sedimentary Rocks.
7: Fossils.
8: Metamorphic Rocks.
9: Shaping Rock.
10: Weathering.
11: Erosion.
12: Soil.
13: Rocks and People.
For More Information.