Days of Sorrow, Years of Glory: 1831-1850, 1st Edition

  • Series Name: Milestones in Black American History
  • Timothy J. Paulson
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 1438162499
  • ISBN-13: 9781438162492
  • DDC: 973.049607
  • Grade Level Range: 6th Grade - 12th Grade +
  • eBook
  • Original Copyright 2015 | Published/Released January 2016
  • This publication's content originally published in print form: 2015

  • Price:  Sign in for price



Days of Sorrow, Years of Glory: 1831-1850, describes how America finds itself on a collision course with war as Harriet Tubman, Sojourner Truth, and a galaxy of clear-voiced, strong-hearted women and men followed Nat Turner in his efforts to strike a blow for liberty. This resource is part of the Milestones in Black American History series.

This product is part of:


Milestones in Black American History

Each title covers the contributions of African Americans over a specific time period as they relate to historic milestones toward freedom and equality.

Table of Contents

Front Cover.
Copyright Page.
1: Two Decades of Struggle: African Americans during the Mid-19th Century.
2: Blood on the Corn: Nat Turner’s Rebellion.
3: Way Down in Egypt Land: Daily Life in the South.
4: The Underground Railroad.
5: This Savage and Negro War: The Seminole Wars.
6: Frederick, Is God Dead?: Sojourner Truth and Frederick Douglass.
7: The Fugitive Slave Act.
Support Materials.
Further Reading.