Music Theory for Computer Musicians, 1st Edition

  • Michael Hewitt
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 1305489764
  • ISBN-13: 9781305489769
  • DDC: 781.34
  • Grade Level Range: College Freshman - College Senior
  • 336 Pages | eBook
  • Original Copyright 2008 | Published/Released September 2014
  • This publication's content originally published in print form: 2008

  • Price:  Sign in for price



Many DJs, gigging musicians, and electronic music producers understand how to play their instruments or make music on the computer, but they lack the basic knowledge of music theory needed to take their music-making to the next level and compose truly professional tracks. Beneath all the enormously different styles of modern electronic music lie certain fundamentals of the musical language that are exactly the same no matter what kind of music you write. It is very important to acquire an understanding of these fundamentals if you are to develop as a musician and music producer. Put simply, you need to know what you are doing with regard to the music that you are writing. Music Theory for Computer Musicians explains these music theory fundamentals in the most simple and accessible way possible. Concepts are taught using the MIDI keyboard environment and today's computer composing and recording software. By reading this book and following the exercises contained within it, you, the aspiring music producer/computer musician, will find yourself making great progress toward understanding and using these fundamentals of the music language. The result will be a great improvement in your ability to write and produce your own original music!

Table of Contents

Front Cover.
Title Page.
Copyright Page.
About the Author.
1: Musical Sound.
2: The Notes.
3: The Major Scale.
4: Rhythm, Tempo, and Note Lengths.
5: Score Editing.
6: Intervals.
7: Meter.
8: Chords.
9: The Natural Minor Scale.
10: Melody and Motives.
11: The Harmonic and Melodic Minor Scales.
12: Augmented and Diminished Intervals and Interval Inversions.
13: Chordal Inversions, Octave Doubling, and Spacing.
14: Additive Rhythms.
15: Expanding Your Knowledge of Keys.
16: The Pentatonic Scale.
17: Major, Minor, Augmented, and Diminished Triads.
18: Chord Progressions and Root Movement.
19: The Cycle of Fifths.
20: The Seven Diatonic Modes.
21: Chords of the Seventh.
22: Exotic Scales.
23: Complex Harmony.
24: Arpeggiation.
25: Intonation.
26: Conclusion.
Audio CD and Accompanying Text Sidebars.
Other Backmatter.

Meet the Author

Author Bio

Michael Hewitt

Dr. Michael Hewitt was born in South Wales in the United Kingdom. He earned his bachelor of music degree at London University and a master's degree and doctorate at the University of Bangor, where he specialized in musical composition. He is a classically trained musician, a composer, a lecturer, and an author on musical subjects. Working to commission, he writes classical scores as well as soundtracks for various television productions, both at home and abroad. He is currently working as a music technology tutor at Coleg Harlech, North Wales.