The War on Poverty and the Office of Economic Opportunity: Part 2: Community Profiles

  • Volume 2
  • Published By:
  • Shipping Weight: .00 lbs ( .00 kgs)
  • Microform
  • Price:  Call your Representative at (800) 444-0799



The most ambitious and controversial part of the Great Society was its initiative to end poverty. The centerpiece of the War on Poverty was Office of Economic Opportunity (OEO) to oversee a variety of community-based antipoverty programs. Central to OEO’s mission was the idea of "community action," the participation of the poor in framing and administering the programs designed to help them.

In an effort to assess the scale of poverty in America, the OEO developed the Community Profile Project. The Community Profile Project was designed to increase the scope, accessibility, accuracy, and utility of information supporting the planning and evaluation of programs for community improvement.

The Project compiled data for 3,135 U.S. counties and county equivalents that subdivided each state into independently-administered localities. Each profile, composed as a narrative with statistical indices, contained information showing general poverty indicators, size and composition of the poor population, and selected aspects of geography, demography, economy, and social resources.

Each profile is subdivided into six sections with a number of sub-sections: Poverty Indicators, Profile of the Poor, Geographic Profile, Demographic Profile, Economic Profile, and Social Profile.

Part 1: Western States, includes Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming
20 reels

Part 2: Midwestern States, includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin
51 reels

Part 3: Southern States, includes Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia
56 reels

Part 4: Northeastern States, includes Connecticut, Maine,...