Frederick Douglass: A Biography, 1st Edition

  • C. James Trotman
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 031335037X
  • ISBN-13: 9780313350375
  • DDC: 973.8092
  • Grade Level Range: 9th Grade - College Senior
  • 158 Pages | eBook
  • Original Copyright 2011 | Published/Released January 2012
  • This publication's content originally published in print form: 2011

  • Price:  Sign in for price



Explores the life of the most famous black abolitionist and intellectual of the 19th century. This title covers the major developments of Douglass's life from his birth in 1818 through his time as a slave and his rise to prominence as the most famous black voice for freedom of his time.

Table of Contents

Front Cover.
Half Title Page.
Recent Titles in Greenwood Biographies.
Title Page.
Copyright Page.
Series Foreword.
Timeline: Events in the Life of Frederick Douglass.
1: I Been [Re]'Buked, 1818–1826.
2: Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen, 1826–1838.
3: Amazing Grace, 1838–1847.
4: Steal Away, 1847–1858.
5: Wrestlin' Jacob, 1859–1870.
6: Roll, Jordan, Roll, 1870–1895.
7: Climbing Jacob's Ladder.
Selected Bibliography.
About the Author.