Administrative Histories of the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidency: Labor and Employment

  • Published By:
  • Shipping Weight: .00 lbs ( .00 kgs)
  • Microform
  • Price:  Call your Representative at (800) 444-0799



The 1960s opened a new chapter in the history of American labor law by addressing such entirely new issues as race, sex, age, disability, and family. This was a natural outcome of factors such as the civil rights movement, new social norms, a gradually shrinking trade and industrial workforce, changes in technology, and an increasingly global economy. Since the 1960s, labor laws have come to cover practically all working Americans.

The opening page of this new chapter was the Equal Pay Act (1963). The act prohibited gender-based wage discrimination between workers doing similar kinds of work under similar conditions. The next year saw Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964-the most sweeping labor measure ever. It barred discrimination in every aspect of employment, based on race, color, ethnic origin, sex, or religion. In 1967, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act prohibited discrimination against persons forty years of age and older, based solely on age.

This collection comprises the histories and supporting documents of the following departments, agencies, commissions, and boards:

  • Department of Labor (DoL)                    
  • Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)    
  • Federal Coal Mine Safety Board of Review            
  • Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service (FMCS)    
  • General Services Administration (GSA)            
  • National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)            
  • National Mediation Board (NMB)                
  • Post Office Department                    
  • Railroad Retirement Board (RRB)                
  • Renegotiation Board                        
  • United States Civil Service Commission

37 reels