Rachel Carson: A Biography, 1st Edition

  • Arlene R. Quaratiello
  • Published By:
  • ISBN-10: 031306217X
  • ISBN-13: 9780313062179
  • Grade Level Range: 9th Grade - College Senior
  • 138 Pages | eBook
  • Original Copyright 2004 | Published/Released August 2007
  • This publication's content originally published in print form: 2004

  • Price:  Sign in for price



This biography traces the famous environmentalist's development as a writer from earliest childhood through the publication of her best-known work Silent Spring (1962).

Table of Contents

Front Cover.
Half Title Page.
Recent Titles in Greenwood Biographies.
Title Page.
Copyright Page.
Copyright Acknowledgments.
Series Foreword.
Timeline of Events in the Life of Rachel Carson.
1: Learning and Loving Nature.
2: Seaward She Goes.
3: Making the Sea a "Vivid Reality".
4: Federal Employee "in Action".
5: Writing the Sea Around Us.
6: The Wave of Reaction to the Sea Around Us.
7: Completing the Sea Trilogy.
8: Reaching New Audiences.
9: The Struggle to Write Silent Spring.
10: The Other Road.
11: The Loud Reaction to Silent Spring.
12: The Legacy of Rachel Carson.
About the Author.