The Wadsworth Themes American Literature Series, 1865-1915 Theme 10: Questions of Social and Economic Justice, 1st Edition

  • Jay Parini Middlebury College
  • Alfred Bendixen Texas A & M University
  • ISBN-10: 1428262458  |  ISBN-13: 9781428262454
  • 96 Pages
  • © 2009 | Published
  • List Price = $ 18.95
  • For quantity discounts, Contact your Representative
  • For single copy purchases, visit



The first thematic series published for American literature, THE WADSWORTH THEMES IN AMERICAN LITERATURE SERIES is currently comprised of 21 themes spanning the time period normally covered in the two-semester American literature survey course—1492 to the present. Each carefully edited booklet centers on a core issue of the period with attention given to the development of key themes. Each thematic booklet offers an introductory contextual essay, a variety of literary perspectives, headnotes and footnotes, along with a variety of visual elements. In the third sequence of booklets, Alfred Bendixen offers a selection from the period just after the Civil War through the beginnings of the modern period. Bendixen, who is Executive Director of the American Literature Association, has proven himself a scholar of unusual talents, and he brings his deep knowledge of the period into play. Bendixen offers a compelling range of texts by men and women who consider the evolving issue of gender in fascinating ways. During this period, a young nation struggles to define itself, to locate its economic pulse, to balance the need for economic expansion and development with the requirements and demands of social justice. Millions of immigrants arrived from Europe, radically changing the complexion of the nation. In "Crime, Mystery, and Detection," students will find an array of gripping stories by some of the pioneering authors from this emerging popular genre.

Features and Benefits

  • THE WADSWORTH THEMES IN AMERICAN LITERATURE SERIES strikes a teachable balance in choice of texts, offering an eclectic range of new works by classic authors as well as substantial examples of works by writers who for cultural or historical reasons have been ignored in the past.
  • This thematic series emphasizes situating texts in their appropriate contexts as well as conveying the sense that these texts speak to those who went before them. THE WADSWORTH THEMES IN AMERICAN LITERATURE SERIES asks a provocative yet basic question that every citizen should consider: What is America? The poets, novelists, and essayists we have included in our thematic series were not shy about offering a response.
  • High-quality illustrations place the selections in their historical contexts, making the literature more accessible to students.
  • Each selection is succinctly introduced by the volume editor and accompanied by headnotes—containing only the most essential information about each period and author—written by a wide array of specialists in the field. The pedagogical apparatus (introductions, headnotes, and illustrations) gives students a clear view of the historical moment, so they can see how authors respond in different ways to contemporary issues of the time and to national obsessions as well as to how literature becomes, over time, a lively conversation among immensely articulate men and women.

Table of Contents

Elizabeth Stuart Phelps Ward (1844–1911).
The Lady of Shalott.
George Washington Cable (1844–1925).
Belles Demoiselles Plantation.
Mary Wilkins Freeman (1852–1930).
The Revolt of "Mother."
Hamlin Garland (1860–1940).
Under the Lion's Paw.
Edwin Markham (1852–1940).
The Man with the Hoe.
Frank Norris (1870–1902).
A Deal in Wheat.
Jack London (1876–1916).
South of the Slot.

Meet the Author

Author Bio

Jay Parini

Jay Parini is a poet, novelist, and biographer. He is Axinn Professor of English at Middlebury College in Vermont. Among his books are THE LAST STATION (Holt, 1990), BENJAMIN’S CROSSING (Holt, 1997), THE ART OF SUBTRACTION: NEW AND SELECTED POEMS (Braziller, 2005), and WHY POETRY MATTERS (Yale, 2008). He has written biographies of John Steinbeck, Robert Frost, and William Faulkner. He has edited numerous books, including THE OXFORD ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AMERICAN LITERATURE (Oxford, 2004) and THE WADSWORTH ANTHOLOGY OF POETRY (Wadsworth, 2006).

Alfred Bendixen

Alfred Bendixen is Professor of English at Texas A& M University. He is the founder of the American Literature Association, which he currently serves as Executive Director. His books include HAUNTED WOMEN (Continuum International, 1985), an edition of the composite novel, THE WHOLE FAMILY (Olympic Marketing Group, 1986), "THE AMBER GODS" AND OTHER STORIES BY HARRIET PRESCOTT SPOFFORD, (Rutgers UP, 1989), and EDITH WHARTON: NEW CRITICAL ESSAYS (Garland, 1992). He is the associate editor of the CONTINUUM ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AMERICAN LITERATURE (Continuum International, 1999) and the co-editor of the CAMBRIDGE COMPANION TO AMERICAN TRAVEL WRITING (Cambridge UP, scheduled for publication in 2008).