Network Defense: Perimeter Defense Mechanisms, 1st Edition

  • EC-Council
  • ISBN-10: 143548357X  |  ISBN-13: 9781435483576
  • 176 Pages
  • © 2011 | Published
  • List Price = $ 89.95
  • For quantity discounts, Contact your Representative
  • For single copy purchases, visit



The Network Defense Series from EC-Council | Press is comprised of 5 books designed to educate learners from a vendor-neutral standpoint how to defend the networks they manage. This series covers the fundamental skills in evaluating internal and external threats to network security and design, how to enforce network level security policies, and how to ultimately protect an organization's information. The books in the series cover a broad range of topics from secure network fundamentals, protocols & analysis, standards and policy, hardening infrastructure, to configuring IPS, IDS, firewalls, bastion host and honeypots. Learners completing this series will have a full understanding of defensive measures taken to secure their organization's information, and along with the proper experience these books will prepare readers for the EC-Council Network Security Administrator (E|NSA) certification. An organization is only as strong as its weakest link. The same is true in network security. Mis-configurations, outdated software and technical glitches are often the easiest point of entry for a hacker. This book, the third in the series, is designed to teach the potential security practitioner how to harden the network infrastructure, evaluate hardware and software configurations and introduce log analysis, creating a strong foundation for Network Security Troubleshooting, response, and repair.

Features and Benefits

  • This five-book series prepares readers for the EC-Council Network Security Administrator (E
  • NSA) certification.
  • Includes Hands-On Projects to encourage the learner to problem-solve and apply their knowledge.
  • Purchase of this new book includes access to the online Student Resource Center containing bonus content and tools to complete the Hands-On Projects successfully.
  • Full online Instructor Resource site with Powerpoints, additional labs,, computerized testbank, and more is accessible by instructors through
  • This series is designed to educate learners, from a vendor neutral standpoint, how to defend the networks they manage.

Table of Contents

1: Hardening Physical Security.
2: Firewalls.
3: Packet Filtering and Proxy Servers.
4 Bastion Host and Honeypots.
5: Wireless Network Security.

Learning Resource Bundles

Choose the textbook packaged with the resources that best meet your course and student needs. Contact your Learning Consultant for more information.

ePack: eBook: Network Defense Series (EC-Council Press Series: Network Security Book 1: Network Foundations and Protocols in Network Security; Security Policy and Threats; Perimeter Defense Mechanisms; Securing and Troubleshooting Network Operating Systems; and Security and Vulnerability Assessment) + Student Resource Center Instant Access Code for Network Defense Series

ISBN-10: 1285038223  | ISBN-13: 9781285038223

List Price = $515.95  | CengageBrain Price = $515.95

Bundle: Network Defense: Fundamentals and Protocols + Network Defense: Security Policy and Threats + Network Defense: Perimeter Defense Mechanisms + Network Defense: Securing and Troubleshooting Network Operating Systems + Network Defense: Security and Vulnerability Assessment

ISBN-10:  1111224366 | ISBN-13:  9781111224363

List Price = $422.95  | CengageBrain Price = $422.95

Meet the Author

Author Bio


The International Council of E-Commerce Consultants (EC-Council) is a member-based organization that certifies individuals in various e-business and security skills. It is the owner and developer of the world famous Certified Ethical Hacker course, Computer Hacking Forensics Investigator program, License Penetration Tester program and various other programs offered in over 60 countries around the globe. These certifications are recognized worldwide and have received endorsements from various government agencies including the US Federal Government via the Montgomery GI Bill, and the US Government National Security Agency (NSA) and the Committee on National Security Systems (CNSS) certifying EC-Council Network Security Administrator (ENSA) program for meeting the 4011 training standard for information security professionals.